What crowns from movies, games and TV shows can tell about their owners

The crown can tell a lot about the character - about his character and habits, moral values, political and religious views. This headdress was worn by both monarchs and religious leaders, there are “combat” crowns or peacetime crowns. Their appearance largely depends on the purpose. The crown occupies a certain boundary position between a piece of jewelry and a significant accessory in a costume, as it can look like a crown connected to a hat (Crown of St. Edward, Cap of Monomakh) or a miter (Crown of the Austrian Empire). All this gives an unusually wide range of opportunities for designers creating visuals for games or movies.

Talking crown design from The Chronicles of Narnia

Beautiful crowns with symbolic overtones can be found in the film adaptation of The Chronicles of Narnia - at the end of the first film, four brothers and sisters are crowned with beautiful wreaths. The filmmakers revealed the meaning they put into the headwear design. Peter has a solid crown with oak leaves. Oak is a symbol of strength and wisdom. Susie has a diadem with daffodils (beauty and spring) and rowan leaves (rowan is an archery tree, bows are made from it). Edmund's silver crown is decorated with birch leaves, because birch is a symbol of protection, renewal, rebirth. Lucy has bay leaves (a symbol of the winner and royal blood) and yarrow flowers in a thin hoop - an indication of healing powers, courage, love.

Designers clearly drew inspiration from the same Lalique, whose tiaras were likened to wreaths of fresh flowers.

The villain Miraz, as well as Prince Caspian from the second part of The Chronicles of Narnia, has an openwork gold crown adorned with large blue and green stones. It is somewhat reminiscent of the crown of the Danish king Christian 4, although there is no need to talk about complete similarity. A comparison with the crown of Isabella of Castile is also possible - it is even more suitable, given the Mediterranean and conquistador flair in the form of telmarines.

Those golden crowns adorned with precious stones.

Crown of Christian of Denmark and Crown of Isabella of Castile

But the concept art for the film shows more obvious parallels with the real world. For example, in the photo below we see (from left to right): the crown of Louis 18 (or the crown of Württemberg), the Hungarian crown of St. Stephen with temporal pendants, the wide faceted crown of St. Louis, the Iranian Shah crowns of Kiani and Pahlavi, and the Romanian iron crown of Karol 1 (with the addition of a large radiant element such as a medallion).

We advise you to read:  All about enamel: what is it, history, types
Concept art for the film and their prototypes from real life

Russian crowns in Majesty: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim

Russian crown jewels are rarely cited anywhere, and it was even more unusual to see them, even in episodic form, in a fantasy setting. The intro for the interface in the add-on for the game Majesty: The Northern Expansion clearly reads the famous Cap of Monomakh. The action of the game has been moved to the north, to the cold snowy lands, so that the crown has received a look corresponding to the environment. The fur trim and the dense dome of Monomakh's hat fit perfectly, it only remained to tweak the design to match the realities of the game world.

But in the original Majesty: the Fantasy Kingdom Sim, it is difficult to determine the real prototype - the crown is quite standard in its shape (hoop and teeth). Among the real crowns, you can pick up a relative analogue - the crown of Margaret of York (wife of the Duke of Burgundy Charles the Bold).

Wicked Witch Crowns from Snow White and the Huntsman

The evil witch-queen Ravenna appears before us in an iron crown with spikes, immediately suggesting who the main antagonist is here. Considering the general gothic nature of the fairy tale cinema, it is worth recognizing that the crown fits perfectly into the environment. Her geometric shapes and the disturbingly cold glow of the metal are perfectly combined with the symbols of death (such as skulls and small bones) in the general outfit of the villain, creating a harsh halo around her, bristling with dangerous sharp shapes. Overall, it is interesting to note that the crown is similar to the top of Sauron's tower and the spiers of Barad Dur from a very different story.

The sharp forms of this crown seem to radiate danger.

In another case, we see a softened version of the image of the villainess, where the crown fully corresponds to the traditional design, with large polished (not cut) stones along the hoop and rays in the form of fleur-de-lis. As the closest example, we can recall the crown of the Polish queens (as in this portrait of Queen Jadwiga), or the crown of Rudolph2 (of the Austrian Empire), only without the arc and miter elements in the upper part. Or the crown of Elizabeth of Bosnia or St. Henry.

The second crown of the evil queen (center) and her ideological inspirers

Wonder Woman and her diadem

Wonder Woman's tiara features Art Deco designs. Of course, in the real Art Deco era, completely different designs were popular with women. They are best shown in The Great Gatsby, with its diamond jewelry, so popular in an era when ostentatiousness was the main leitmotif.

We advise you to read:  Koh-i-noor is the most famous diamond
Tiara Savoy with white and yellow diamonds on the head of Daisy, the main character of The Great Gatsby

However, let's remember what was characteristic of the Art Deco movement in general. Here the crown of Wonder Woman is quite consistent with the style - hard lines, steps, the motif of diverging rays. The design is both modern and has a sort of "ancient" feel to it. Actually, the art deco style itself is valuable for this - its specific borderline, which is convenient to use to show an advanced, but very ancient civilization.

Characteristic features of the art deco style - hard lines, steps, the motif of divergent rays

Stardust Crowns

At the end of the film, the main characters try on exquisite aristocratic crowns. Spiral motifs in crowns, rearing animals, the pathetic mood of the composition echoing the surroundings (the same thrones on which the characters sit), finally, the redundancy of decor and inlays - everything speaks of baroque style.

Stardust has a fast-paced plot, and the setting is a cross between the Middle Ages, the classic time for fairy tales, and modern times, which is chronologically closer to real 19th-century England behind the fence. In such a temporary "borderland" the choice of baroque was fully justified. Crowns follow this logic.

Crowns not made of gold in different subjects

Not all crowns were made of or covered with gold. Why shouldn't the crown be made of iron? In addition to the already mentioned crown of Ravenna, the crown of Melkor-Morgoth, the main antagonist of Tolkien's The Silmarillion, certainly belongs to the iron royal crowns. Actually, the famous jewels were inserted into this crown, which gave the name to the whole epic. The further fate of the crown is unenviable - in addition to the fact that Beren managed to cut a piece out of it with one of the Silmarils, later, after the fall of Melkor, it was broken and turned into an iron collar connected to the chain of Angainor, with which Melkor was bound.

Crown of Melkor by Enot Art and fun art SpentaMainyu

The uncrowned king of the North from the already mentioned Game of Thrones also has a crown. This was not shown in the series, however, in the book version, Robb Stark has a bronze crown with iron teeth in the form of swords. The crown itself is covered with runes. This crown is very similar to the crown worn by the Kings of the North.

We advise you to read:  Anchor chain weaving: the most popular and sophisticated options for evening wear and for every day
Crown of Robb Stark - fun art to the book

Tiaras and tiaras from Harry Potter

There are no kings and queens in the epic about the wizard boy, but there are iconic headdresses here. No, it's not about the distribution hat. There are truly iconic things in the Rowling universe. For example, the diadem of Candida Ravenclaw is not just a historical artifact that belonged to one of the founders of Hogwarts, but also one of the Dark Lord's horns made in Albania. Subsequently, the diadem was destroyed in the Help-room.

The film showed two different diadems - the one in the portrait, and the one that the heroes destroyed

Although the diadem is sparingly described, it is presumably related to the eagle motif, which is also the symbol of the Ravenclaw House (yes, the Ravenclaw/Ravenclaw symbol is actually an eagle, not a raven). Outstretched wings form the arches of this diadem. Finding a real match is not easy, here we can recall the London jeweler Carlo Giuliano, who made in 1895. tiara "Solar disk" with a similar motif of wings. The bird can also be found in the already mentioned Rene Lalique, although his “rooster” diadem is still very different in appearance and design from what we see in the movies.

Tiara "Sun Disc" by Carlo Giuliano and "Cock" diadem by Lalique

Another headpiece we see in the movie is the tiara of Muriel, Molly Weasley's aunt. Fleur Delacour wore it to her wedding to Bill Weasley. The asymmetrical decoration is made (by goblins) using moonstones and diamonds. In the film, the decoration resembles Victorian lace in design and is made in dark colors, which somewhat muffles the shimmer of the stones.

Fleur and the diadem from the movie

In part, the position of the decoration on the head is reminiscent of Russian kokoshniks, but the asymmetric design is an interesting real diadem "Diamond Foam" in the form of a sea wave crashing on the shore with brilliant splashes. It consists of thin diamond arches, at the end of each of which large diamonds are fixed.

The asymmetrical design is shared by both the tiaras Fleur wore and the actual Diamond Foam jewelry.

Franco-German jeweler Lorenzo Baumer made this decoration for Princess Charlene of Monaco especially for the ball in honor of her wedding with Prince Albert, Grace Kelly's son. "Diamond foam" was supposed to reflect Charlene's love for water - in the past she was a professional swimmer. The thin tiara seems to be woven from “waves” of white gold, adorned with diamonds at the ends. The weight of the largest of them is 8 carats, and in total the decoration weighs 60 carats. It is interesting that the tiara is disassembled into separate decorations: brooches and a plume for hair.

Like this article? Share with friends:
Armonissimo

;-) :| :x : Twisted: : Smile: : Shock: : sad: : roll: : Razz: : Oops: :o : Mrgreen: : Lol: : Idea: : Grin: : Evil: : Cry: : Cool: : Arrow: : ???: :?: :!:

Что короны из кино, игр и сериалов могут рассказать о своих владельцах

Корона может многое поведать о персонаже — о его характере и привычках, моральных ценностях, политических и религиозных взглядах. Этот головной убор носили как монархи, так и религиозные лидеры, встречаются «боевые» короны или короны мирного времени. Их внешний вид во многом зависит от назначения. Корона занимает некое пограничное положение между ювелирным украшением и значимым аксессуаром в костюме, так как может иметь вид венца, соединенного с шапкой (Корона Святого Эдуарда, Шапка Мономаха) или митрой (Корона Австрийской империи). Все это даёт необычайно широкий спектр возможностей для дизайнеров, создающих визуальный ряд для игр или кино.

Говорящий дизайн корон из “Хроник Нарнии”

Прекрасные короны с символическим подтекстом можно найти в экранизации «Хроник Нарнии» — в конце первого фильма четверка братьев и сестер коронована красивейшими венками. Создатели фильма раскрыли смысл, который они заложили в дизайн головных уборов. У Питера основательная корона с дубовыми листьями. Дуб — символ силы и мудрости. У Сьюзи диадема с нарциссами (красота и весна) и рябиновыми листьями (рябина — дерево лучников, из него изготавливают луки). Серебряная корона Эдмунда украшена березовыми листьями, ибо береза — символ защиты, обновления, перерождения. У Люси в тонком обруче лавровые листья (символ победителя и королевской крови) и цветки тысячелистника — указание на целительные силы, храбрость, любовь.

Дизайнеры явно черпали вдохновение у того же Лалика, чьи диадемы уподоблялись венкам из живых цветов

У злодея Мираза, равно как и у принца Каспиана из второй части «Хроник Нарнии» можно увидеть ажурную золотую корону, украшенную большими синими и зелеными камнями. Она чем-то напоминает корону датского короля Кристиана 4, хотя говорить о полной схожести не приходится. Возможно также сравнение с короной Изабеллы Кастильской — она даже больше подходит, учитывая средиземноморский и конкистадорский флёр в образе тельмаринов.

Те самые золотые короны, украшенные драгоценными камнями.

Корона Кристиана Датского и Корона Изабеллы Кастильской

А вот концепт-арт к фильму демонстрируют более явные параллели с реальным миром. Например, на фото ниже мы видим (слева направо): корона Людовика 18 (или же корона Вюртемберга), венгерская корона Св. Иштвана с височными подвесками, широкий граненый венец Людовика Святого, иранские шахские короны Киани и Пехлеви, и румынская железная корона Кароля 1 (с добавлением большого лучистого элемента типа медальона).

Советуем прочитать:  Виды застежек на серьгах: английские, французские, итальянские, штифтовые и не только
Концепт арт к фильму и их прототипы из реальной жизни

Русские короны в Majesty: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim

Русские коронационные регалии редко цитируются где-либо, тем более необычно было заметить их пусть даже в эпизодическом виде в фентезийном сеттинг. В заставке для интерфейса в дополнении к игре Majesty: The Northern Expansion ясно читается знаменитая Шапка Мономаха. Действие игры перенесено на север, в холодные заснеженные земли, так что корона получила соответствующий окружению вид. Меховая оторочка и плотный купол шапки Мономаха подошли идеально, оставалось только подправить дизайн под реалии мира игры.

А вот в оригинальной Majesty: the Fantasy Kingdom Sim определить реальный прототип сложно — корона достаточно стандартна по своей форме (обруч и зубцы). Среди реальных корон можно подобрать относительный аналог — корону Маргариты Йоркской (супруги герцога Бургундского Карла Смелого).

Короны злой ведьмы из “Белоснежки и Охотника”

Злая королева-ведьма Равенна предстает перед нами в железной короне с шипами, сразу подсказывающей, кто здесь главный антагонист. Учитывая общую готичность кино сказки, стоит признать, что корона прекрасно вписывается в окружение. Ее геометрические формы и тревожно-холодное сияние металла отлично сочетаются с символами смерти (такие, как черепа и маленькие кости) в общем наряде злодейки, создают вокруг нее жесткий, ощетинившийся опасными острыми формами ореол. В целом, интересно заметить, что корона похожа на вершину башни Саурона и шпили Барад Дура из совсем другой истории.

Острые формы этой короны будто излучают опасность

В другом случае мы видим смягченный вариант образа злодейки, где корона вполне отвечает традиционному дизайну, с крупными полированными (не огранёнными) камнями по обручу и лучами в виде геральдических лилий. Как ближайший пример можно вспомнить корону польских королев (как на этом портрете королевы Ядвиги), либо корону Рудольфа2 (Австрийской империи), только без дуги и элементов митры в верхней части. Либо же корона Елизаветы Боснийской или же Святого Генриха.

Вторая корона злой королевы (по центру) и ее идейные вдохновители

Чудо-Женщина и ее диадема

Диадема Чудо-женщины выдержана в формах ар деко. Конечно, в реальную эпоху ар деко у женщин были популярны совсем другие дизайны. Лучше всего они показаны в «Великом Гэтсби» с его бриллиантовыми украшениями, столь популярными в ту эпоху, когда основным лейтмотивом была показная роскошь.

Советуем прочитать:  Белое и красное золото: что дороже, чем отличаются
Тиара Savoy с белыми и желтыми бриллиантами на голове Дейзи, главной героини «Великий Гэтсби»

Однако давайте вспомним, что было характерно для направления ар деко в целом. Здесь венец Чудо-женщины вполне отвечают стилю — жесткие линии, ступенчатость, мотив расходящихся лучей. Дизайн одновременно и современен, и обладает каким-то «древним» ощущением. Собственно, сам стиль ар деко этим и ценен — своей специфической пограничностью, которую удобно использовать, чтобы показать продвинутую, но очень древнюю цивилизацию.

Характерные признаки стиля ар деко — жесткие линии, ступенчатость, мотив расходящихся лучей

Короны из «Звездной пыли»

В конце фильма главные герои примеряют изысканные аристократические венцы. Спиралевидные мотивы в коронах, вставшие на дыбы животные, патетический настрой композиции, перекликающийся с окружением (те же троны, на которых сидят герои), наконец избыточность декора и инкрустаций — все говорит о барочной стилистике.

«Звездная пыль» имеет динамичный сюжет, а время действия — нечто среднее между средними веками, классическим временем для сказок, и Новым временем, что хронологически ближе расположенной за изгородью реальной Англии 19 века. В таком временном «пограничье» выбор барокко был вполне оправдан. Короны отвечают этой логике.

Короны не из золота в разных сюжетах

Не все короны изготавливались из золота или покрывались им. Почему бы короне не быть железной? Помимо уже упомянутой короны Равенны, к железным царственным венцам безусловно относится и корона Мелькора-Моргота, главного антагониста «Сильмариллион» Толкиен. Собственно, в этот венец и были вставлены знаменитые драгоценности, давшие название всей эпопее. Дальнейшая судьба короны незавидна — помимо того, что Берену удалось вырезать из нее кусок с одним из Сильмариллов, впоследствии, уже после падения Мелькора она была разбита и превращена в железный ошейник, соединённый с цепью Ангаинор, которыми и был скован Мелькор.

Корона Мелькора, изделие Enot Art и fun art SpentaMainyu

Есть венец и у некоронованного короля Севера из уже упомянутой «Игры Престолов». В сериале этого не показали, однако в книжной версии у Робба Старка имеется бронзовый венец с железными зубцами в виде мечей. Сам венец покрыт рунами. Корона эта очень похожа на ту корону, которую носили Короли Севера.

Советуем прочитать:  О чем расскажет проба на золотых украшениях?
Корона Робба Старка — fun art к книге

Тиары и диадемы из «Гарри Поттера»

Королей и королев в эпопее про мальчика-волшебника не наблюдается, однако знаковые головные уборы здесь имеются. Нет, речь вовсе не о распределительной шляпе. Есть во вселенной Роулинг воистину знаковые вещи. Например, диадема Кандиды Когтевран — это не просто исторический артефакт, принадлежавший одному из основателей Хогвартса, но по совместительству еще и один из кристражей Темного Лорда, сделанный им в Албании. Впоследствии диадема была уничтожена в Выручай-комнате.

В фильме показали две разные диадемы — ту, что на портрете, и ту, что уничтожили герои

Хотя диадема описана скупо, предположительно она связана с мотивом орла, являющегося также символом факультета Когтевран (да, на самом деле символ Когтевран/Рейвенкло — орел, не ворон). Распростертые крылья образуют дуги этой диадемы. Найти реальное соответствие непросто, здесь можно вспомнить лондонского ювелира Карло Джулиано, сделавшего в 1895г. тиару «Солнечный диск» с похожим мотивом крыльев. Птицу можно обнаружить и у уже упоминавшегося Рене Лалик, правда его «петушиная» диадема все же сильно отличается видом и конструкцией от того, что мы видим в кино.

Тиара «Солнечный диск» Карло Джулиано и «Петушиная» диадема Лалика

Еще одно головное украшение, которое мы видим в фильме — тиара Муриэль, тетушки Молли Уизли. Флёр Делакур одела ее на свадьбу с Биллом Уизли. Асимметричное украшение сделано (гоблинами) с использованием лунных камней и бриллиантов. В фильме украшение напоминает дизайном викторианское кружево и выполнено в темных тонах, что несколько приглушает мерцание камней.

Флер и диадема из фильма

Отчасти положение украшения на голове напоминает русские кокошники, а вот асимметричным дизайном — интересную реальную диадему «Бриллиантовая пена» в виде морской волны, блестящими брызгами разбивающейся о берег. Она состоит из тонких бриллиантовых арок, в конце каждой из которых закреплены крупные бриллианты.

Асимметричный дизайн характерен для обеих диадем — той, что носила Флер и реального украшения «Бриллиантовая пена»

Франко-немецкий ювелир Лоренцо Баумер сделал это украшение для княгини Монако Шарлен специально к балу в честь ее венчания с князем Альбером, сыном Грейс Келли. «Алмазная пена» должна была отразить любовь Шарлен к воде — в прошлом она профессионально занималась плаванием. Тонкая тиара будто соткана из «волн» белого золота, украшенных на концах бриллиантами. Вес самого крупного из них составляет 8 карат, а в общей сложности украшение весит 60 карат. Интересно, что тиара разбирается на отдельные украшения: броши и плюмаж для волос.

Понравилась статья? Поделиться с друзьями:
Armonissimo
Добавить комментарий

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: