Everything you wanted to know about military watches

Wrist Watch

A hundred years ago, a watch on the wrist was considered only as a lady’s accessory, a cute jewelry trinket on a thin gold wire. What suited the man more was the chain hanging elegantly from his pocket, at the end of which was a large round watch that opened with a click. They made their way from the pocket on the wrist thanks to the needs of the military. It is believed that the first order for the supply of watches to the army was carried out by the Girard-Perregaux company in the 1880s for the Imperial German Navy.

Men's Swiss mechanical wristwatch Aviator Professional P.4.06.0.016 with chronograph

During the Boer War and the First World War, watches were actively used to coordinate attacks and artillery strikes. Since 1906, they began to be supplied with flexible bracelets and primitive case fastenings, which made wearing on the hand much more convenient. The fragile glass was protected from impacts and fragments by either a metal grill or a leather cover. Since the moment when watches became a military necessity from a novelty and decoration, the attitude towards their production has changed.

A significant contribution to this was made by Hans Wilsdorf, who in 1905 founded the company Wilsdorf & Davis, Ltd., ten years later renamed The Rolex Watch Company, Ltd. He constantly improved the characteristics of his watches, releasing, for example, the first waterproof Oyster (“oyster”) model in 1926. And it was Rolex that began producing lines of “professional” watches, which were tools for performing specific tasks, be it diving, flying at high speed and high altitude, moving in uncharted terrain, and so on.

You should know: military and military watches are not the same thing. The first category includes certified models adopted by one or another army unit, with specific technical characteristics. The second is more of a style category; such watches often have appropriate external rather than technical parameters.

Today, all watches supplied to the army undergo a series of special tests and have the appropriate certificates. The British Ministry of Defense prescribed standards for watches for the Air Force and Navy in the 40s of the XNUMXth century, calling it WWW (Wrist Watch Waterproof).

We advise you to read:  Bracelet or strap - a guide for those who cannot decide

In 1964, the Pentagon published the MIL-W-46374 standard, which contained the requirements that simple, rugged watches had to meet for use in combat environments. As in many other areas of our lives, many of the inventions, complications and materials that we can see when we look at our wrists were originally created specifically for military watches. Below are some mandatory characteristics of a military wristwatch.

Men's Swiss wristwatch Traser Officer Pro TR_107426

Design: discreet, with clear information display

The appearance of a military watch satisfies two requirements: it must be discreet and provide all the necessary information at first glance. Today it is mostly a black dial, case and strap. The NATO strap, durable and prevents the watch from being lost even if the lugs on one side are damaged, can be black or khaki. Glass with anti-reflective coating will not allow a ray of light to reveal the owner of the watch and will not reflect, making it difficult to see the dial.

You should know: today a number of manufacturers produce watches from high-tech materials with many complications, very accurate and high-quality, but at the same time they are not officially supplied to the army. The most striking example is that many professional military personnel from different countries, both in service and in private life, choose G-SHOCK precisely for its characteristics. At the same time, Rolex or Panerai, which have decades of relationships with the military, are now out of reach for most watch enthusiasts, whether in uniform or in civilian clothes.

Tritium illumination has been used for decades to improve visual clarity and the ability to see in the dark. Initially, it was paint with the addition of tritium, but they abandoned it, switching to cones with this radioactive element, but safe in such packaging. Tritium always works, and the user does not need to “charge” the watch or press a button, which would be, to put it mildly, inconvenient in reconnaissance or ambush. All twelve hour markers are large and are indicated in Arabic numerals in a clear, chiseled font.

We advise you to read:  Mondaine increased the size of the evo2 watch
Men's Swiss wristwatch Luminox Black Ops 8880 XL.8882

Materials: strength, lightness, protection

Steel and carbon, shockproof glass, polymers and nylon, various alloys - the main task of all materials used in production, from the smallest part of the mechanism to the buckle, this makes the watch even more durable and resistant to external influences. In addition, they should not glare or change their properties in heat or cold, under water or in a rarefied atmosphere. Space and military technologies are coming to the rescue, and watches, like cars, are quickly absorbing the latest inventions.

Men's Swiss mechanical wristwatch Tawatec EODriver MK II Automatic Tactical Blue TWT.47.B1.A1B

Protection: from any physical impact

For more than seventy years, mandatory parameters for military watches have been water resistance, corrosion resistance, and antimagnetic protection. Over time, dust-proof and shock-proof characteristics were added to them. Sealed cases protect against water, dust and other types of contaminants, and some manufacturers have double cases to ensure guaranteed protection of the mechanism.

In particular, the Traser H3 watches has a carbon outer case that protects against shock, and an inner one made of steel. Rolex constantly introduces improvements and inventions into its models, changing materials down to the smallest details of the movement, for example, they use nickel and phosphorus alloys, a parachrome spring, and high-grade 904L steel. Manufacturers like Casio increase shock absorption with additional rubber pads and a layer of alpha gel inside the case.

Functionality: required capabilities

From the point of view of functionality, military watches are more important for application characteristics than technological complications and the ability to be used in extreme conditions. Therefore, the accepted military standards do not have most of the complications that even budget Casios have today.

The most recognizable type of military watch dial is with an additional inner circle of numbers from 13 to 24. These are significantly smaller than the main 12, but are still distinct. We can say that a hundred years ago this was the answer to the main request of the military: this scale made it much easier to synchronize time and, accordingly, actions. For the needs of artillerymen, a telemetric scale was implemented in wrist chronographs, allowing one to calculate the distance to the shot.

We advise you to read:  Perrelet Turbine Rainbow inspired by the art of Jackson Pollock

The cardinal directions are marked on the bezel so that the wearer of the watch can more easily navigate the terrain; later, in modern electronic watches, a compass appeared. On the Luminox XL.8831.KM belt there is a map scaling ruler, this is another aid in orientation.

Все, что вы хотели знать о военных часах

Наручные часы

Еще сто лет назад часы на руке рассматривали только в качестве дамского аксессуара, милой ювелирной безделушки на тонкой золотой проволоке. Мужчине более пристала элегантно свисающая из кармана цепочка, на конце которой были открывающиеся с щелчком крупные круглые часы. Свой путь из кармана на запястье они проложили благодаря потребностям военных. Считается, что впервые заказ на поставку часов в армию выполнила компания Жерар-Перего (Girard-Perregaux) в 1880-х годах для имперского военно-морского флота Германии.

Мужские швейцарские механические наручные часы Aviator Professional P.4.06.0.016 с хронографом

Во время Англо-бурской и Первой мировой войн часы активно использовались для координации атак и артиллерийских ударов. С 1906 года они уже стали поставляться с гибкими браслетами и примитивными креплениями корпуса, что сделало ношение на руке значительно удобнее. От ударов и осколков хрупкое стекло защищала либо металлическая решетка, либо кожаный чехол. С момента, когда часы из новинки и украшения стали военной необходимостью, отношение к их производству изменилось.

Весомый вклад в это внес Ханс Уилсдорф, в 1905 году основавший компанию Wilsdorf & Davis, Ltd., через десять лет переименованную в The Rolex Watch Company, Ltd. Он постоянно улучшал характеристики своих часов, выпустив, например, в 1926 году первую водонепроницаемую модель Oyster («устрица»). И именно Rolex начали производить линейки «профессиональных» часов, которые были инструментами для выполнения конкретных задач, будь то подводное погружение, полет на высокой скорости и большой высоте, передвижение в неисследованной местности и так далее.

Следует знать: военные и милитари-часы — не одно и то же. В первую категорию входят сертифицированные модели, взятые на вооружение тем или иным армейским подразделением, с конкретными техническими характеристиками. Вторая — это скорее категория стиля, такие часы чаще обладают соответствующими внешними, нежели техническими параметрами.

Сегодня все поставляющиеся для нужд армии часы проходят серии специальных тестов и обладают соответствующими сертификатами. Британское Минобороны прописало инструкцию по стандартам для часов ВВС и ВМФ в 40-х годах XX века, назвав ее WWW (Wrist Watch Waterproof).

Советуем прочитать:  Tissot Seastar 1000 представлены в новом размере

В 1964 году Пентагон опубликовал стандарт MIL-W-46374, содержащий требования, которым должны были соответствовать простые и прочные часы для использования в условиях боевых действий. Как и во многих других сферах нашей жизни, многие изобретения, усложнения и материалы, которые мы можем увидеть, взглянув на свое запястье, изначально были созданы именно для армейских часов. Ниже – некоторые обязательные характеристики военных наручных часов.

Мужские швейцарские наручные часы Traser Officer Pro TR_107426

Дизайн: неброский, с четким отображением информации

Внешний вид военных часов удовлетворяет двум требованиям: они должны быть неброскими и давать всю нужную информацию с первого взгляда. Сегодня это в большинстве случаев черный циферблат, корпус и ремень. НАТО-ремешок, прочный и не дающий потерять часы даже при повреждении ушек с одной стороны, может быть черным или цвета хаки. Стекло с антибликовым покрытием не позволит лучу света выдать владельца часов и не будет отсвечивать, мешая увидеть циферблат.

Следует знать: сегодня ряд производителей выпускают часы из высокотехнологичных материалов со множеством усложнений, очень точные и качественные, но при этом официально не поставляющиеся в армию. Самый яркий пример – многие профессиональные военные разных стран как на службе, так и в частной жизни выбирают G-SHOCK именно за их характеристики. В то же время Rolex или Panerai, имеющие десятилетия отношений с военными ведомствами, сейчас недоступны большинству любителей часов, носят ли они форму или ходят в штатском.

Для увеличения четкости восприятия и возможности видеть в темноте вот уже несколько десятилетий используется тритиевая подсветка. Изначально это была краска с добавлением трития, но от нее отказались, перейдя на колбочки с этим радиоактивным, но безопасным в такой упаковке элементом. Тритий действует всегда, и у пользователя нет нужды «заряжать» часы или нажимать на кнопку, что было бы, мягко говоря, неудобно в разведке или засаде. Все двенадцать часовых меток крупные и указаны арабскими цифрами рубленых четких шрифтов.

Советуем прочитать:  Наручные часы TAG Heuer Aquaracer теперь в золоте
Мужские швейцарские наручные часы Luminox Black Ops 8880 XL.8882

Материалы: прочность, легкость, защита

Сталь и карбон, противоударное стекло, полимеры и нейлон, различные сплавы – главная задача всех используемых в производстве материалов, начиная от самой мелкой детали механизма и заканчивая баклей, это делает часы еще более прочными и стойкими к внешним воздействиям. Они, кроме того, не должны бликовать, менять свои свойства в жару или холод, под водой или в разреженной атмосфере. Космические и военные технологии приходят на помощь, а часы, как и автомобили, быстро вбирают самые последние изобретения.

Мужские швейцарские механические наручные часы Tawatec E.O.Driver MK II Automatic Tactical Blue TWT.47.B1.A1B

Защита: от любых физических воздействий

Обязательными параметрами вот уже более семидесяти лет для военных часов считается водостойкость, устойчивость к коррозиям, антимагнитная защита. Со временем к ним добавились противопыльные и противоударные характеристики. От воды, пыли и других видов загрязнений защищают герметичные корпуса, а у некоторых производителей они двойные — для гарантированной защиты механизма.

В частности, у Traser H3 watches внешний корпус карбоновый, он защищает от ударов, а внутренний – стальной. Rolex постоянно вводит улучшения и изобретения в свои модели, меняя материалы вплоть до мельчайших деталей механизма, например, используют сплавы никеля и фосфора, пружину parachrome, сталь высокой марки 904L. Такие производители, как Casio, увеличивают амортизацию с помощью дополнительных резиновых прокладок и слоя альфа-геля внутри корпуса.

Функциональность: необходимые возможности

С точки зрения функциональности для военных часов важнее прикладные характеристики, чем технологичные усложнения, и возможность использования в экстремальных условиях. Поэтому в принятых армейских стандартах нет большинства усложнений, которые сегодня есть даже у бюджетных Casio.

Самый узнаваемый вид циферблата военных часов – с дополнительным внутренним кругом цифр от 13 до 24. Они значительно меньшего размера, чем основные 12, но также отчетливы. Можно сказать, что еще сто лет назад это стало ответом на основной запрос военных: эта шкала позволила намного проще синхронизировать время и, соответственно, действия. Для нужд артиллеристов в наручных хронографах была реализована телеметрическая шкала, позволяющая вычислить расстояние до выстрела.

Советуем прочитать:  Oris представила новый собственный калибр

Стороны света отмечаются на безеле, чтобы обладатель часов мог проще ориентироваться на местности, позже, уже в современных электронных часах, появился компас. На ремне Luminox XL.8831.KM расчерчена линейка масштабирования карты, это еще одна помощь в ориентировании.