Mathey-Tissot Vintage Automatic: solid and stylish Swiss Made

Wrist Watch

The author of the following review has already talked about another sample of Mathey-Tissot products. Naturally, there was also a brief description of the brand itself. Therefore, here we will limit ourselves to the briefest information about the brand.

First of all, Mathey-Tissot is undeniably and fully Swiss Made. The company was founded in 1886 in the Swiss town of Le Pont-de-Martel (municipality of Neuchâtel, near Le Locle), where it remains to this day. Mathey-Tissot watches are products of a basic price level, but, of course, of genuine Swiss quality (by the way, the brand firmly maintains its independence, not being part of any groups).

Both quartz and mechanical watches are produced. In the above-mentioned previous review we talked about one of the quartz models, today we’ll look at classical mechanics. So, Mathey-Tissot Vintage Automatic.

First impression

As you know, people are greeted by their clothes. In this regard, everything is in order: a neat, well-executed box in anthracite gray tones both outside and inside, marked “Mathey-Tissot Swiss Made”. The pad is the same color, and around it is the watch itself. Attached to the bracelet, on a twisted thread (also gray), is a nice nameplate, which reads in silver and gray: “Mathey-Tissot Geneve 1886,” plus the company logo, reminiscent of a jet plane.

Mechanism, functionality

As noted above, this is classical mechanics. The model is powered by the automatic caliber STP 1-11. The abbreviation STP stands for Swiss Technology Production - this is a company that is part of the American (of course, international) Fossil group and is located in the town of Manno (canton of Ticino, Lugano district, Switzerland). The company was founded in 2008, and the year of birth of the STP 1-11 caliber is 2012.

We advise you to read:  Expert opinion: Delbana Retro Moonphase watch review

This mechanism is a clone of the workhorse ETA 2824-2. The differences are minimal: one more stone was added (the total number of stones became 26) and the mainspring was slightly lengthened (as a result, the power reserve increased to 44 hours).

Otherwise, everything is familiar: 28800 vibrations per hour, diameter 25,6 mm, thickness 4,6 mm, Incabloc shockproof system, Nivaflex alloy mainspring, double-acting self-winding rotor, manual winding option, stop-second option. The stated accuracy is -0/+15 seconds per day, which corresponds to the “Top” configuration of the prototype (ETA 2824-2).

Well, both accuracy and power reserve are subject to express testing. More on this towards the end of the review.
We also note that the availability of maintenance of the mechanism is undoubted, and many positive responses speak about its reliability and reliability. In addition, the design of the caliber provides for the impossibility of “rewinding” (damage to the mainspring as a result of thoughtless rotation of the crown).

As for the functions, they, as it should be with such an “engine,” are the most essential - hours, minutes, seconds and date.

Case, bracelet

The body is made of 316L stainless steel. Let us remind you: thanks to the increased proportion of molybdenum, this steel is especially resistant to corrosion, high temperatures and aggressive environments. It is not without reason that in English-language sources it is often called Marine grade stainless.

Here we will immediately point out some “marine” nuance in the design of the case, namely the fluted bezel (black, thanks to PVD coating) with diving markings and a protected and screw-down fluted crown. However, this is rather a stylization, since the bezel is not rotatable. Our model is not a diving model, having a waterproof body of 100 m - decent, but, of course, insufficient for diving.

At the same time, one cannot fail to note the complete convenience of operations with the crown. Unscrewing and screwing, pulling out one or two clicks (to set the date and time, respectively) - all this does not cause problems. We would like to thank the authors of the model for both the cyclops lens above the date aperture and the sapphire coating of the mineral glass. We also mention the Mathey-Tissot logo on the end of the crown and the “1886” reminder on the side of the case at the 9 o’clock position.

We advise you to read:  Wristwatch RADO DiaStar Original Skeleton

Next - to the back cover. It is transparent, as befits a high-quality Swiss mechanical watch of this kind. The careful finishing of the caliber parts is visible, and standard inscriptions are applied around the perimeter (material, waterproof, “Switzerland”).

The bracelet is also made of 316L steel, three-row. The folding clasp bears the same “airplane” logo. The watch sits absolutely comfortably on the hand.

In conclusion, the case diameter is 42 mm, the thickness is 12 mm, the weight of the assembled watch (installed using an electronic scale) is 152 g.

Clock face

It is a solid black color, against the background of which white indices (circles, baguettes at the “6” and “9” o’clock positions, a conditionally diving triangle at “12 o’clock”) and skeletonized hour hands (all with the same corporate logo) stand out clearly. and a minute, as well as a second, topped with a circle. All this is luminescent. Readability in complete darkness is ideal. It is worth especially noting that the latter applies equally to the second hand, which is not so common in such models.

There is no digitization of the markers, but this is not necessary (in addition, the bezel is digitized). The date is also perfectly readable (although not in the dark, but this is not required) - thanks to the lens already mentioned above.
Full order.

Express testing results

The measurements, of course, are not professional, but what they are...

So, during the day the clock moved forward by 9 seconds, that is, it met the declared accuracy (remember, -0/+10). This is a good indicator, corresponding to the “Top grade” level according to the authoritative ETA classification.

Once fully wound (about 30 turns of the crown until resistance to further rotation is felt), the watch has completed 45 hours and 12 minutes, which even exceeds the guaranteed 44-hour power reserve.
Not the slightest complaint.

Conclusion

Model Mathey-Tissot Vintage Automatic, ref. H901ATN is a stylish and respectable example of the Swiss watch industry, which is at the same time at a “democratic” price level - about 90 thousand rubles. (around 1 thousand Swiss francs). The target audience is primarily seen as energetic men who profess a healthy lifestyle and love for sports style. However, the watch will not seem out of place either in the office or even at any special ceremony.

We advise you to read:  abart Series OA men's watch

More Mathey-Tissot watches:

Mathey-Tissot Vintage Automatic: солидный и стильный Swiss Made

Наручные часы

Автору нижеследующего обзора уже доводилось рассказывать о другом образце продукции компании Mathey-Tissot. Там же присутствовало, естественно, и краткое описание самого бренда. Поэтому здесь ограничимся самыми краткими сведениями о марке.

Прежде всего, Mathey-Tissot – это несомненный и полноценный Swiss Made. Компания основана в 1886 году в швейцарском городке Ле-Пон-де-Мартель (муниципалитет Невшатель, неподалеку от Ле Локля), где пребывает и поныне. Часы Mathey-Tissot – продукция базового ценового уровня, при этом, безусловно, подлинного швейцарского качества (к слову, марка твердо сохраняет свою независимость, не входя в какие-либо группы).

Выпускаются часы как кварцевые, так и механические. В вышеупомянутом предыдущем обзоре речь шла об одной из кварцевых моделей, сегодня рассмотрим классическую механику. Итак, Mathey-Tissot Vintage Automatic.

Первое впечатление

Как известно, встречают по одёжке. В этом отношении всё в порядке: аккуратная, добротно исполненная коробочка в антрацитово-серых тонах как снаружи, так и внутри, с маркировкой «Mathey-Tissot Swiss Made». Подушечка того же цвета, вокруг нее – сами часы. К браслету прикреплен, на витой нитке (тоже серой), симпатичный шильд, на котором серебряным по-серому значится: «Mathey-Tissot Geneve 1886», плюс логотип фирмы, напоминающий реактивный самолет.

Механизм, функционал

Как уже отмечено выше, перед нами классическая механика. Модель работает на автоматическом калибре STP 1-11. Аббревиатура STP расшифровывается как Swiss Technology Production – это компания, входящая в американскую (конечно, международную) группу Fossil и расположенная в местечке Манно (кантон Тичино, округ Лугано, Швейцария). Фирма основана в 2008 году, а год рождения калибра STP 1-11 – 2012-й.

Советуем прочитать:  Наручные часы Armin Strom Gravity Equal Force Ultimate Sapphire

Этот механизм – клон «рабочей лошадки» ЕТА 2824-2. Отличия минимальны: добавлен еще один камень (итого камней стало 26) и несколько удлинена заводная пружина (в итоге запас хода увеличился до 44 часов).

В остальном все привычно: 28800 полу колебаний в час, диаметр 25,6 мм, толщина 4,6 мм, противоударная система Incabloc, заводная пружина из сплава Nivaflex, ротор автоподзавода двустороннего действия, возможность ручного завода, опция «стоп-секунда». Заявленная точность хода -0/+15 секунд в сутки, что соответствует комплектации «Top» у прототипа (ЕТА 2824-2).

Ну, и точность, и запас хода подлежат экспресс-проверке. Об этом ближе к концу обзора.
Заметим также, что доступность технического обслуживания механизма несомненна, а о его надежности и безотказности говорит множество положительных откликов. Кроме того, в конструкции калибра предусмотрена невозможность «перезавода» (повреждения заводной пружины в результате бездумного вращения заводной головки).

Что касается функций, то они, как и положено при таком «движке», самые насущные – часы, минуты, секунды и дата.

Корпус, браслет

Корпус выполнен из нержавеющей стали марки 316L. Напомним: благодаря повышенной доли молибдена эта сталь особенно устойчива к коррозии, высоким температурам и агрессивным средам. Недаром в англоязычных источниках ее часто называют морской сталью (Marine grade stainless).

Здесь сразу укажем на некоторый «морской» нюанс в дизайне корпуса, а именно рифленый безель (черного цвета, благодаря PVD-покрытию) с дайверской разметкой и защищенную и завинчивающуюся рифленую же заводную головку. Впрочем, это, скорее, стилизация, ибо безель не поворотный. Дайверской наша модель не является, имея водонепроницаемость корпуса 100 м – приличную, но для дайвинга, разумеется, недостаточную.

При этом нельзя не отметить полное удобство операций с заводной головкой. Отвинчивание и завинчивание, выдвижение на один или два щелчка (для установки, соответственно, даты и времени) – все это не вызывает проблем. Поблагодарим авторов модели и за циклопную линзу над апертурой даты, и за сапфировое покрытие минерального стекла. Упомянем также логотип Mathey-Tissot на торце заводной головки и напоминание «1886» на боковой стороне корпуса в положении «9 часов».

Советуем прочитать:  Наручные часы Cuervo y Sobrinos Historiador Asturias Pequeños Segundos в изумрудном цвете

Далее – к задней крышке. Она, как и положено высококачественным швейцарским механическим часам такого рода, прозрачная. Видна тщательная отделка деталей калибра, а по периметру нанесены стандартные надписи (материал, водонепроницаемость, «Швейцария»).

Браслет – тоже из стали 316L, трехрядный. На раскладывающейся застежке – все тот же логотип «самолет». На руке часы сидят абсолютно комфортно.

В заключение — диаметр корпуса 42 мм, толщина 12 мм, вес часов в сборе (установлен с помощью электронных весов) 152 г.

Циферблат

Он солидного черного цвета, на фоне которого отчетливо выделяются белые индексы (кружочки, багеты в положениях «6» и «9» часов, условно-дайверский треугольник на «12 часах») и стрелки – скелетонированные часовая (все с тем же фирменным логотипом) и минутная, а также секундная, увенчанная кружочком. Все это – люминесцентное. Читаемость в полной темноте – идеальная. Стоит особо отметить, что последнее относится в равной мере и к секундной стрелке, что не так часто встречается у подобных моделей.

Оцифровки меток нет, но это и необязательно (к тому же имеет место оцифровка безеля). Прекрасно читается и дата (хотя и не в темноте, но этого и не требуется) – благодаря уже упомянутой выше линзе.
Полный порядок.

Результаты экспресс-тестирования

Измерения, конечно, не профессиональные, но уж какие есть…

Итак, за сутки часы ушли вперед на 9 сек., то есть уложились в заявленную точность (напомним, -0/+10). Это хороший показатель, соответствующий уровню «Top grade» по авторитетной классификации ЕТА.

После полного завода (около 30 поворотов заводной головки, до ощущения сопротивления дальнейшему вращению) часы прошли 45 часов 12 минут, что даже превышает гарантированный 44-часовой запас хода.
Ни малейших нареканий.

Заключение

Модель Mathey-Tissot Vintage Automatic, ref. H901ATN, – стильный и солидный образец швейцарской часовой индустрии, находящийся при этом на «демократичном» ценовом уровне – порядка 90 тыс. руб. (в районе 1 тыс. швейцарских франков). В качестве целевой аудитории видятся прежде всего энергичные мужчины, исповедующие здоровый образ жизни и любовь к спортивному стилю. Впрочем, часы не будут казаться неуместными ни в офисе, ни даже на какой-либо торжественной церемонии.

Советуем прочитать:  Обзор смарт-часов HEAD H160401

Еще часы Mathey-Tissot: